Home > Religion/History > 7.29.2008

7.29.2008

 

 

Not much to write here…just basically an update of recent readings…

 

I read the DaVinci Code in about 3 days. I believe that’s probably the fastest I’ve ever read of book of that size. The story was fantastic and I could not put the book down. It’s obviously a book of fiction. Of fictitious characters and story lines. However, the basic premise is based on a lot of theories brought forth from scholars and historians.

 

So, once finishing that book, I decided to purchase a copy of ‘Holy Blood, Holy Grail’. I’ve only just started reading this behemoth, but it’s extremely fascinating, and obviously where Dan Brown garnered a lot of his information for the DaVinci Code.

 

I’ve also had another intriguing book lent to me by a friend. It’s the Gospel of Thomas. This is one of the Gnostic Gospels that contains a bunch of quotes of Jesus that aren’t found in the biblical gospels. It’s supposedly written by one of the apostles, Thomas (‘Doubting’ Thomas).

 

Anyway…that’s all for now. I’ll probably have a lot more after I finish this book.

 

 

Recent Readings:

 

DaVinci Code : Dan Brown

Holy Blood, Holy Grail : Michael Baigent, Richard Leigh, Henry Lincoln

The Gospel of Thomas

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

