Home > atheism, life, morality, religion > 08.28.2009 – My New 10 Commandments

08.28.2009 – My New 10 Commandments

I am currently about half-way through reading Richard Dawkins – The God Delusion (yes, i know…what the hell took me so long?!?!?). It is truly VERY well written and I am thoroughly enjoying it.

I’ve just recently gone through his section that talked about a ’10 commandements’ more suited for our modern society. Since, obviously, the biblical ones are not only VERY outdated, but also, not all encompassing and really rather narcissistic from ‘god’s’ perspective.

Anyway, I wanted to post the new list of 10 commandments (based on the list that Dawkins provides in the book) because I think they are really are more applicable to modern life. Here is the list, along with some of my own commentary in parentheses where applicable…

First Commandment: Do not do to others what you would not want them to do to you. (Ah yes…the golden rule. Applicable, I think through ALL ages)

Second Commandment: In all things, strive to cause no harm.

Third Commandment: Treat your fellow human beings, your fellow living things, and the world in general with love, honesty, faithfulness and respect. (A worthy, albeit challenging, goal)

Fourth Commandment: Do not overlook evil or shrink from administering justice, but always be ready to forgive wrongdoing freely admitted and honestly regretted. (this has an ‘eastern philosophy feel to it that I really like)

Fifth Commandment: Live life with a sense of joy and wonder. (this is a big one for me. I think when I was young, I HAD this sense of wonder. This amazement with the world and the universe. Though the years of my fundamentalism, a lot of that was taken away and lost. Now that I’ve shed that oppression, I can feel some of the sense of joy and wonder coming back, and it really has been awesome)

Sixth Commandment: Always seek to be learning something new. (yep…a daily pursuit for me)

Seventh Commandment: Test all things; always check your ideas against the facts, and be ready to discard even a cherished belief if it does not conform to them.

Eighth Commandment: Never seek to censor or cut yourself off from dissent; always respect the right of others to disagree with you. (another challenging rule for me personally. It’s hard, but getting easier, to take the mentality that other people are allowed to have opposing viewpoints. I guess it just comes down to the fact that I’ve always been passionate about my beliefs (that damn fundamentalism!).

Ninth Commandment: Form independent opinions on the basis of your own reason and experience; do not allow yourself to be led blindly by others.

Tenth Commandment: Question everything. (and then question it again!)

-eoe-

  1. August 28, 2009 at 9:58 am

    🙂 That’s quite a nice post and your own comments make it interesting.

    I have read Dawkins’ book a while ago, and the good professor became an instant distant friend; not only because of the sap he distills which undeniably resonated a lot within myself, but also because of his love and respect for words. He writes damn good for a scientist! 🙂

    From 1 to 10, no wonder religious people are foaming at the mouth. It’s all so beautifully… human (with all its cognitive and natural implications). But of course, religions (like all sects and cults from which they emanate) are about everything BUT learning anything new (cf. 6th C.).

    It is one thing that cracks me up all the time, actually, when Dawkins detractors never hesitate to label him as “nazi”. His views, and atheism in general couldn’t be the best nadir to nazism.

    Clearly, should “God” be affiliated to a political system, that would be totalitarianism. Anyone can object it, that’s absolutely where the model to it comes from.

  1. June 7, 2010 at 1:11 pm

Leave a Reply

