Home > atheism, christianity, life, religion > 11.18.2009 – Facebook Fun – Episode 1

11.18.2009 – Facebook Fun – Episode 1

My best friend’s Mother posted this as her Facebook status today:

The worst moment for the atheist is when he is really thankful, and has nobody to thank. – Dante Gabriel Rossetti”

I thought for a while before commenting on this. I was going to just let it go, like I do most everything else that the ‘fundies’ post on FB, but instead I decided comment with this:

“There lots of people that I can thank”

Pretty harmless and innocent in my humble opinion.

Shortly after my comment, she follow up with a:

“sigh”

And I responded:

“Oh c’mon, I could have gotten all offended and defensive :)” (yes, I did use the smiley emoticon on my comment)

Shortly after that, my wife called me to tell me that my friend’s mom had deleted my comment. I said “All of them?” She said that she had only seen one of them. I told her there were a couple and i would check it out.

Low and behold, when I logged in, all the comments were gone, but her original post was still there. It makes me angry that believers are so small minded that they can’t even SEE how something like this could be offensive. Or in this case, I believe the intension was TO be offensive. I would love to repost on her post again, but in respect for my friend I’m going to let it go. As frustrating as it is, my relationship with my friend is more important than me making my point to his mom, which is probably a futile effort anyway.

 

  1. GreyIxia
    November 18, 2009 at 6:17 pm

    If this were Facebook, I would “like” this, but seeing as this is not Facebook and it does not have I like button, you will have to enjoy my comment :).
    I completely agree that you could have started a real nasty argument. There are benefits from religion, but with benefits come detriments. Some religious people love talking all about their religion but when they get an opposing comment, they refuse to listen.

  2. adoubtersramblings
    November 20, 2009 at 9:20 am

    Thanks for the comment! And yeah, I agree that the vast majority of religious folks just cover their ears and yell ‘LA LA LA LA LA LA’ when someone has a differing viewpoint. If there faith is so fragile that listening to someone elses opinion would cause it to waiver, then I’m thinking that faith isn’t on very solid ground to begin with.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

