Home > atheism, christianity, life, religion > 12.04.2009 – I’m an atheist…and I like Christmas!

12.04.2009 – I’m an atheist…and I like Christmas!

There! I said it! And I’m not at all upset about it. I do like Christmas, and it doesn’t really matter why. Though, this wouldn’t be much of a blog entry if I didn’t go into it anyway would it? So here goes. 

It’s probably just because of cultural reasons that I feel this way. I was raised with the sights, sounds, and smells of the Christian holiday, and every December, I almost literally crave all of those things. It’s the ‘warmth’ of the season. The family get togethers that happen so infrequently throughout the year. The seasonal specific foods. And the many other things that go on this time of year that really separate it from all other times. 

I realize that most of those things are just aesthetic. But for me, I don’t need the supernatural elements that the ‘origins’ of this season claim, for me to be able to enjoy, embrace, and celebrate this time of year. Yeah, I could call it a Solstice Celebration or something of that sort. But then, it seems to lose that cultural history that makes Christmastime a unique part of who I am. Those things are a PART of me, whether I believe the religious elements or not. 

So, I will probably be saying a lot of ‘Merry Christmases’ again this year, and not feeling the least bit conflicted about it.

  1. December 4, 2009 at 2:40 pm

    So, I will probably be saying a lot of ‘Merry Christmases’ again this year, and not feeling the least bit conflicted about it.

    Think twice my friend. There are Atheists who have found out that only pagans have a right to enjoy Christmas. Sad, but true.

  2. adoubtersramblings
    December 4, 2009 at 2:58 pm

    Oh for sure! I definitely know about the pagan origins of this holiday and how it was hijacked by christianity. However, my point is that MY personal culture is/was heavily influenced by the hijackers, and it’s become part of me. There’s nothing I can do about history, so I intend on making my present and future as enjoyable as I can for both myself and my family!

    thanks a bunch for the feedback!

  3. Sheila
    December 12, 2009 at 2:23 pm

    When I first become Atheist, I had a huge problem with saying Merry Christmas. It took me a couple of years to come to terms that I was only robbing myself of the joy of the season by being so pessimistic. Christmas for me has nothing to do with the religiousness; it is about the joy, food, and family. Merry Christmas to all! :)))

  4. adoubtersramblings
    December 13, 2009 at 10:23 am

    You got it Sheila! That’s my take exactly! Thanks for the feedback!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

