Home > atheism, christianity, death, Faith, life, morality, religion > 01.20.2010 – Funeral Proselytizing

01.20.2010 – Funeral Proselytizing

I’m so disgusted!!

My mother is an associate minister at a very tiny church in an even tinier little town about an hour from here. They are a fundamentalist, biblical-literalist church, and everything about it and them drives me crazy.

Back in October when my Grandmother died, I found out pretty quickly that my Mother was going to have the head pastor at her church lead the ‘ceremony’ at the funeral. I hoped at that point that it wouldn’t turn into what I expected, but alas…it did. He basically preached a hell-fire type sermon at my grandmother’s funeral. I’m not sure why entirely, but I find this AMAZINGLY inconsiderate and wrong. I mean, it’s a time where friends and family need compassion and understanding, and what we got was condemnation and damnation, complete with an ‘alter call’ at the end. I almost walked out.

Just a few days ago, my mother posted THIS on her facebook status:

It is appointed for man once to die and then the judgement. FIVE SAVED at the funeral today!

It just amazes me that these people can look themselves in a mirror after taking advantage of people when they are at their most emotionally vunerable. Is it truly winning people to your faith if you get them when they aren’t in ‘their right minds’? The more I think about this, the more infuriated I become. I realize I’m going to have to get over it and not let it bother me, since there’s ZERO chance of anything changing them at this point. But the reality is, this really urks the hell out of me.

I’m so disgusted!!

  1. January 30, 2010 at 1:13 pm

    I’ve been to one of those in the last year. I was not too surprised at the religious nature, but the “near” altar call and the shaming of everyone really put me off

  2. Super FZL
    June 10, 2011 at 10:56 am

    I’ve never seen a funeral that wasn’t like that. And yes, it disgusts me all the same.

    • adoubtersramblings
      June 14, 2011 at 1:19 pm

      Yeah…I hear ya! Just such a horrible practice!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

