Home > atheism, christianity, depression, Faith, religion > 03.15.2010 – God Isn’t Telling Anybody Anything!

03.15.2010 – God Isn’t Telling Anybody Anything!

I’ll start this post by just saying that today sucks. It’s one of those days for me when everything seems to have caught up to me and beat me relentlessly with large clubs. I’m pissy! I’m moody! And at the same time, pretty certain that tomorrow will be a much better day.

That being said, and the reason for my post is, that I find it funny that God isn’t telling my religious family and friends about my mood. No words of wisdom from the Almighty to them, telling them how much I could use a phone call or a message. You’d think that he’d let them know right? Like a voice to my Mom’s head: “Hey, your oldest son is having a rough go of it today, you might wanna check in on him” or to any of my siblings: “Your brother could use a phone call”.

Nope, that never happens. Unless I go out of MY way to mention it somewhere, they will never know. Why? Because this is just another little piece of the ‘Evidence Pie’ that I can add to my own collection that further supports my non-belief.

I’m sure someone will spin it to blame it on me for my lack of faith. But the reality is, that would be one REALLY easy way for God to prove himself to me. I’d almost convert on the spot if someone called me out of the blue and said “You know…God just told me that you’re feeling pretty down today. And I thought I should call you to make sure you’re doing ok”. I mean really? How hard would that be? I’m sure I’d still have the thoughts of ‘pure coincidence’ rolling around in my head, but that would certainly give me pause. (of course, now that this blog post is out there, there’s always the chance that someone saw it and put 2 and 2 together! ;))

For the record, this post is not a cry for sympathy from the readers of this blog. Just a fleeting thought that crossed my mind today. I’ll be fine tomorrow. Maybe even later today.

  1. bethsciallo
    March 15, 2010 at 11:54 am

    Sometimes God doesn’t tell anybody anything because He’s waiting for you to speak to Him direct. Or maybe your family doesn’t want to alienate you further by throwing out some “christianese” that would just put you off the idea of God even more.If you wanted to be really scientific about it, then count how many times things are going your way, you’re feeling alright, the sunset amazes you, the toilet paper does NOT run out at the wrong time – would you consider that proof?
    a thought from an almost middle-aged believer

  2. adoubtersramblings
    March 15, 2010 at 12:00 pm

    lol….well, if this is the FIRST of my posts that you’ve read, your response is understandable. While the toilet paper reference was funny….it definitely does not help the arguement for me.

    Quick background…I spent nearly 25 years as a fundamentalist believer. So, I’ve talked to God over and over and over and over. Was spirit filled (or at least I convinced myself that I was). But for my money…I’ve never heard so much as a peep. It wasn’t until I finally convinced myself that there was no one there to hear me, that things in life started to make a lot more sense.

    There were MANY reasons even before I posted this that allowed me to let go of my beliefs. Like I said in the post, this was just a fleeting thought that I had today, and another bullet in the gun so to speak.

    For the record, I’m a photographer…so sunsets amaze me ALL THE TIME. But I don’t need to look to a god for the cause. The real reasons are much more satisfying. 🙂

  3. March 15, 2010 at 1:30 pm

    I know you dont want sympathy, but you’re getting a little bit from me (just a lil bit, hahaha) Sorry youre feeling down 😦 But youre right…tomorrow will be better (or even this afternoon, as you say). And hey! maybe you do need to take your camera out, dust off those ND grads (YES, I SAID IT!) and take some kick ass sunset pics! Therapy. PT! (Photographer’s Therapy, haha!)

    And you rock, by the way. Another thought from another almost middle aged non-believer. 😛

  4. Paul Amirault
    March 21, 2010 at 7:26 pm

    What worries me is not that God isn’t talking to me, but instead all of the people who believe he talks to them and they then convince small minded people to do stupid things.

    When you look at the Hubble telescope pictures how can anyone believe we are the Ones??

    • adoubtersramblings
      March 23, 2010 at 10:00 am

      Yeah man…totally. People need to realize that these ‘voices of god’ that they are hearing are just their own consciousnesses (if that’s a word).

      I totally agree with your Hubble reference. I sit back amazed sometimes thinking about the amount of ‘stuff’ out there. I mean…BILLIONS of stars in OUR galaxy…then BILLIONS of galaxies in our universe. How could we possibly be so arrogant to think that we are the only life (intelligent or otherwise). I am currently reading Carl Sagan’s Pale Blue Dot, and he really does a great job of putting that all into perspective.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

