Home > atheism, christianity, life, Personal, religion > 05.03.2010 – Quiet the Chatter

05.03.2010 – Quiet the Chatter

I find myself, in recent days, trying desperately to ‘quiet the chatter’ so to speak. I’m not sure how else to put it really. I think I’ve grown tired of hearing all the hate and anger coming from both sides of the theological debate.

I now have a TON of atheist friends on my Facebook friend list now, and I while I am enormously grateful to have this support group, they really do seem to be the most vocal group that I have there. In general, I think that’s a great thing. I’ve always been an advocate of promoting the positive attributes of this worldview in the hopes that it may one day limit the misconceptions. However, the vast majority of posts made by this group are VERY hateful, disrespectful, divisive, slanderous, and downright offensive. I understand that a lot of times the believers posts are a lot like that as well, but shouldn’t we take the high ground in order to gain the respect that we feel we so rightly deserve?

I can’t see how promoting atheism or the wrong-doings of religion this way could possibly be a stepping-stone to a more respectful coexistence between our two groups. While I would be more than happy to see religion go away permanently, the realistic side of me can’t see that happening any time soon. So, shouldn’t mutual respect and tolerance be what we are striving for instead?

I realize I’m just talking to the wall here, and that this isn’t going to change any time soon. But as always, just getting these thoughts out of my head and in print can help me sort through them.

I also mean no offense to my fellow atheist out there. I guess I’m just in a bit of a passivist mode right now.

  1. May 3, 2010 at 9:28 pm

    I couldn’t agree with you more. People, regardless of what side of any debate youre on, need to realize that in order to get respect, you need to give respect. Politics and religion are hot subjects, and very personal ones…we all know this. So if you can’t treat others with respect in the sand box when talking about it, STAY OUT OF THE SAND BOX!!!!!!!!

    After that comment, I feel silly saying this, but really – people just need to grow the “f” up, ya know? Grrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrr.

    …or so said the wall. hehe

  1. November 3, 2014 at 11:43 am

Leave a Reply

