Home > atheism, Bible, christianity, life, Personal, Perspective, religion > 06.29.2010 – Memoirs of Indoctrination – Part 2 – Judgement Day

06.29.2010 – Memoirs of Indoctrination – Part 2 – Judgement Day

The other day I read a passage in the book I’m reading currently that mentioned the fact that, according to the bible, all men must face judgement after death. And that simple statement kicked off a big-time flashback to childhood for me.

I can remember being terrified of this when I was just a very young child (between 6 and 9 years old). I remember vividly picturing the scenario in my head. It went something like this…

I was dead (obviously ;)), and standing before the throne of God for my judgement (after waiting in a LONG line of other recently deceased souls! Can you imagine the wait that must be? Having to stand there while each and every human soul is judged on everything they’ve ever done in life? Not to mention if you were to be taken up in the rapture…the huge influx of souls all at once would certainly cause a bottleneck the likes of which the universe has never seen before!).  What I was seeing was basically a HUGE movie screen. And on that screen was projected everything bad that you had ever done in your life. I remember thinking how amazingly embarrassing some of the things that would be shown would be. Kind of like the ultimate ‘He sees you when you’re sleeping, He knows when you’re awake’ scenario. I also remember thinking how unfair it all seemed that all those waiting in line were able to sit in and enjoy the ‘show’.

Now that I realize that this was all a product of the indoctrination that I had as a child, as an atheist adult I am able to see how silly that all was. It also shows how easy it is for religion to control people through fear.

I’ve kept this post to rather light-hearted in tone, but the reality is that while I was living those years, there was real and tangible fear in me about this. I remember having a LOT of fear as a child. I’m glad that I’ve been able to create what I hope is an environment without all of these irrational fears for my daughter. I hope when she looks back at her childhood when she’s an adult, that she only has images of joy, hope, love, and fun. I know I can’t shelter her from all of the REAL sorrows that are a part of  life, but at least I know I can avoid having her suffer needlessly concerning things of this nature.

  1. June 29, 2010 at 5:05 pm

    This is a really good post. I’m waiting for that day when I am able to hear, “Well done!” Of course, I realllly don’t want to remember the past things that I’ve done lol

    • adoubtersramblings
      June 30, 2010 at 6:55 am

      Thanks for the comment, Lakia! Personally, when the time comes, I will enjoy the peace and quiet! 😉 Until then, I intend on living life like there’s no tomorrow!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

