Home > atheism, christianity, death, health, life, Personal, Perspective, religion, Secular Humanism > 08.10.2010 – In Honor of Hitchens

08.10.2010 – In Honor of Hitchens

As most know, Christopher Hitchens finds himself currently in the fight of his life. Or maybe it would be better said the fight FOR his life. He was recently diagnosed with esophageal cancer, and is undergoing aggressive treatment as we speak. He recently did an interview with Anderson Cooper and discussed all things related:

I found a recent blog posting  about the topic and found the last paragraph particularly entertaining:

As for the few of you who wrote to Goldblog to say they were praying for Hitch’s death, I can say that he does not care one way or another what you do or think or pray, but on behalf of myself and the entire team here at The Atlantic, let me just say, Go fuck yourselves.

for myself, I’d just like to add this…

Mr Hitchens,

I’ve only in the last few years found you. You’ve shed light into areas of my life that I didn’t know were so resoundingly hidden in deep darkness. You are blunt, forceful, confident, well spoken, and hilarious. And I appreciate you sharing those attributes with the rest of the world.

You will be in my thoughts. I will be pulling for you to make a speedy and full recovery so that you have more opportunities to shine the light of reason into the dark corners of this world that so desperately need it. I will follow your progress and celebrate the victories as they come. But I will not, under any circumstances, pray for you!

Get well soon, Hitch!

  1. August 16, 2010 at 2:09 pm

    I sending all the good vibes I can muster! Get well, we need your wisdom.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

