Home > atheism, christianity, death, Faith, life, Personal, Perspective, Philosophy, religion > 10.15.2010 – Christians Wishing Their Lives Away

10.15.2010 – Christians Wishing Their Lives Away

In some ways it’s not surprising. In others it’s just downright baffling.

Recently, my great-aunt passed away. We weren’t particularly close and she lived a good, long life that should be celebrated. Of course, any death is a sad time, it’s also an inevitability for all of us. So, if that person has lived 70, 80, 90 or more years, when that time comes, grief (at least for me) tends to be quickly replaced with awe and respect for a long life, well lived.

That said, here is a run-down of something I read when my mom posted about her aunt’s death on her Facebook status. The response from one of my mom’s friends (who I’ve talked about here before) was this:

my condolences. I wish I was going with her

This just left me scratching my head. But only momentarily. As I said at the top of this post “In some ways it’s not surprising”, and definitely NOT the first time I’ve heard something like this. So, to understand the mentality of this fundamentalist belief is to understand that this life, in their view, is very temporary, and almost an inconvenience. They want nothing more than to get on to eternity in heaven. So, instead of embracing life and living it to the fullest and enjoying it, they seem to hate this life and wish it away. They seem to view it as a separation from their god. What’s sad is that none of them have a single drop of evidence to support the idea that ANYTHING happens after they die. Let alone their particular brand of afterlife. So, to squander this one and only life by wishing for it to end creates in me a sadness for them that I can’t even begin to conceptualize. I just wish they would have a wake up call and realize what they are doing.

  1. October 15, 2010 at 10:54 pm

    It is common for people to struggle with what might be called the exasperating enigma of existence:
    http://thinkpoint.wordpress.com/2009/01/26/the-exasperating-enigma-of-existence/

  2. adoubtersramblings
    October 18, 2010 at 8:21 am

    That’s all fine and dandy, but there is still no evidence whatsoever for any kind of life after death. What it comes down to is wishful thinking. And to wish away a REAL life on the supposition that a more glorious one awaits after death is, in my opinion, very sad.

    What makes you so sure that YOUR version is the right version. You obviously take the Christian story as fact. What about all the other holy books that describe the same things? The Koran, The Bhagavad Gita, etc? There’s exactly the same amount of evidence for the Christian theories on origins and life after death as there is for all those other ones.

    The only thing that we know FOR SURE is that THIS life, the one that we are living now, is reality. As far as we know, this is the only one we get. So, to do anything other than live it to the fullest is throwing it away.

  3. October 19, 2010 at 2:04 pm

    “My condolences. I wish I was going with her…” People are full of crap. If they really felt that way, then there’d be a lot more impatient people offing themselves in order to get to paradise earlier. The fact of the matter is that there’s a huge gulf between what people say they believe, and what they really believe.

    • adoubtersramblings
      October 19, 2010 at 2:29 pm

      Oh yeah! There’s no question. I deleted part of this post that said almost exactly that. I think it was going to say “If believers all really believed this, why aren’t more of them killing themselves to get there quicker?”. I’ve actually heard responses from them, though, ranging from ‘they have god’s work to do here’ to ‘killing yourself would be a sin and you would go to hell’.

      so, for me…it still falls back on just being really pathetic and sad for them to even have these thoughts…even if they ARE just fleeting thoughts. Too much life to be lived to be wishing it away!

      thanks for the feedback, snide! when I have a few more minutes I’m gonna check out your blog!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

